268/365

By: Amanda

Mar 16 2010

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Canon PowerShot SX120

2 Comments

Aperture:f/6.3
Focal Length:60mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/25 sec
Camera:Canon PowerShot SX120 IS

15 March 2010

Junot Díaz spoke at City University today as part of the Man Hong Kong International Literary Festival, and City U’s Pulitzer Prize Distinguished Lecture Series. I should have recorded him or taken notes because he was amazing and I was too in the moment to mentally file away all that he said.  He spoke of diaspora, family, compassion as pedagogy, Oscar and Junior, Santo Domingo, hip-hop, his craft, race, New Jersey, language, the Fantastic Four, reading, geeks, Pulitzer Prizes, friends – and the rhythm that is created as all these entities constantly ebb and flow in our lives. Really, I guess he was talking about culture -its manifestations, mutations and mutilations.

He is brilliant.

It was brilliant.

2 comments on “268/365”

  1. […] Junot Diaz speak as a part of the Man Hong Kong International Literary Festival. [Documented here first.] I adore Diaz’s novel, and because my immersion into the pedagogy of literature and […]

  2. I first heard of Junot Diaz in my Latina Life Stories class last Spring at CSUMB. I quickly became a fan! He also spoke at the University a few months ago much to the pleasure of my professor Maria Villasenor–she’s his biggest fan! Unfortunately, I didn’t attend (though I wish I did).

    It made me smile when I saw this picture, see 🙂 He truly is brilliant!


Leave a Reply

